I’ve been wanting to go to Guu for a while, since I saw it on Katherine‘s blog and heard about it from others. And finally had the chance to before I leave for Seattle, twice at that too! The first visit was with Mike. He had the deep fried kabocha pumpkin croquette with a boiled egg inside, and the Kinoko cheese bibimbap. I had the grilled oysters, and salmon natto yukke, which had an interesting description: “Chopped salmon sashimi with seven friends(Natto, shibazuke, takuan, wonton chips, garlic chips, green onion and raw egg yolk). Mix them up and wrap it in NORI seaweed.” I guess even dead salmon has friends.

The grilled oysters were good. So was the salmon natto yukke. The dish looked picture-worthy before the waitress stirred it. Then it just looked gooey and slimy… Nevertheless, it was interesting as you wrap it in seaweed. But both dishes were too flavourful for me – I was eating them by myself without a main dish. I couldn’t keep eating at the end. But Mike’s bibimbap was amazing!

And I showed up at Guu’s door again the next day. This time with my camera, and determined to order dishes that wouldn’t be too flavourful. And picked a carnivore friend so we can share dishes :p We ordered seared salmon sashimi, grilled squid, grilled oysters and some seafood thing from the special menu.

ABURI SALMON - Lightly seared atlantic salmon sashimi with ponzu sauce and wasabi mayo

It was just delightful. I never though sashimi would taste this good without wasabi.

A dish with shrimps and scallops

This dish was just okay – didn’t amaze me too much.

IKAMARU - Grilled whole SURUME squid with SHICHIMI pepper and garlic mayo

While sitting at the bar with Mike, I saw this puffed up squid. I was trying to figure out why it’s puffed up for the longest time. First thought it was filled with something, and I thought grilled squids are all flat. So decided to try this dish the second day. It was pretty well done as well. Good but not overly flavourful.

KAKIMAYO - Grilled oysters with spinach, garlic mayo and cheese on the top

The oysters were really big and the flavour was perfect! You can taste the cheese and a bit of spinach. To die for.

The atmosphere of Guu was very different from the restaurants I usually visit. It was really lively, all the staff greats warmly and loudly as you enter. Every dish they make, they yell it out in Japanese. It can be hard for conversations if you sit at the bar; you have to stop once in a while and wait until the chefs finish yelling out the dish names. And as you leave, they say their goodbyes in Japanese again.

Hopefully I can enjoy more of Guu once I move to Seattle, and closer to Vancouver! :3

