The first time I tried to make creme caramel, it was a horrible failure. I over burnt the sugar when I was caramelizing it. And so after I took it out of the fridge, the whole custard was swimming in a really bitter syrup.

Creme Caramel

Creme Caramel

Needless to say, I couldn’t wait for the fifth class as we’re making creme caramel and barvarian cream. (Haha actually I look forward to every one of the classes) When our chef was showing us how to caramelize the sugar, it took her three attempts. The first two times, she tried the wet method – by adding a bit of water first. It’s really hard to do it properly, if the pan, sugar, utensil, or the lid of the pan isn’t clean, the sugar crystalizes and you have start anew.  So the third time, she did it the dry way with a new package of sugar. 

When I ate the creme caramel that we made, the sugar was still kinda bitter. But a lot better than my first attempt :)

